Home / First Nations

First Nations

The First Nations of Alberta are split into three treaties: Treaty 6, 7, and 8. There are forty-seven First Nations in Alberta.  There are 23 in Treaty 8, which comprises the area north of Edmonton.

Treaty 6 contains 16 nations, and surrounds territory from Edmonton to Red Deer.  Treaty 7, with 7 nations, lies from Red Deer south.

These treaty areas are considered to be some of the traditional territories of the different tribes of Alberta.  The northern tribes consist of the Dene, the Cree, the Dogrib, and others.  The Treaty 6 consists primarily of the Plains Cree, and the south consists primarily of the Blackfoot with Tsuu T’ina and the Stoneys as part of Treaty 7.

We chose to use the words First Nations and Métis instead of the Constitutional designation “Aboriginal People”, which is inclusive of all three groups: Métis, Inuit and First Nations.

The treaties themselves extend beyond the borders of Alberta, and were geographical areas prior to Canada becoming a country.  Our models and examples are used to help the consumer understand what to expect from their chosen experience.  These are broken into First Nations or Métis.  Alberta does not have an Innu community, and therefore does not include this product/experience grouping within our authentic traditional Aboriginal experiences.

The key to understanding what kind of experience you will have is broken down into five categories: Authentic Traditional First Nations Experience, Authentic Contemporary First Nations Experience, Authentic Traditional Métis Experience, Authentic Contemporary Métis Experience, or Historic.

Should you wish to learn more about the First Nations, you may visit their websites at Treaty 6, 7 or 8 dot org.  We hope you enjoy.