Home / Heritage


In this section, you’ll find links to Aboriginal communities across the province. Visit these sites to find out more about the people, history and traditions of Alberta’s First Nations and Métis settlements.

If you would like your nation, settlement or community represented on this page, please contact us at: info@AlbertaAboriginalTourism.com.

About Alberta’s First Nations Treaty Areas 

The 47 First Nations of Alberta are split into three treaties: Treaty 6, 7, and 8. Treaty 6 contains 16 nations located from Edmonton to Red Deer. Treaty 7, with seven nations, lies from Red Deer south. There are 23 nations in Treaty 8, which comprises the area north of Edmonton. 

These treaty areas are considered to be some of the traditional territories of the different tribes of Alberta. The northern tribes consist of the Dene, the Cree, the Dogrib, and others. The Treaty 6 consists primarily of the Plains Cree, and the south consists primarily of the Blackfoot with Tsuu T’ina and the Stoneys as part of Treaty 7. The treaties themselves extend beyond the borders of Alberta, and were geographical areas prior to Canada becoming a country.

If you would like to learn more about Alberta’s First Nations communities, click on the links below to visit the Nations’ websites.

Treaty 6 Nations